July 15, 2024

British government reshuffles generally take place over a period of hours, with the pace of appointments sometimes halting or accelerating as politicians accept or decline new positions. Here’s what has been announced officially so far on Monday.

Foreign secretary: David Cameron (not in previous cabinet, prime minister 2010 to 2016).

Home secretary: James Cleverly (previously foreign secretary).

Health secretary: Victoria Atkins (formerly financial secretary, a sub-cabinet position in the Treasury).

Secretary for environment, food and rural affairs: Steve Barclay (previously health secretary)

Chief secretary to the Treasury: Laura Trott (formerly a pensions minister).

Conservative Party chairman and minister without portfolio: Richard Holden (previously a transport minister).

Departing cabinet ministers: Suella Braverman, home secretary; Thérèse Coffey, environment secretary.

Some ministers below cabinet rank who have said they are resigning: Jeremy Quin, paymaster general; Nick Gibb, schools minister; Neil O’Brien, a health minister; Rachel Maclean, housing minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *